brazilianvwbay.com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

www.brazilianvwkombi.com

HomeSearchRegisterLog in
Got a query? Please use the Search Function to find the answers!
11 years of BraziBay fun!!
We're all about the volkswagenT2kombi
It's smiles more fun in a BraziBay!

Lost in a new world ????

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Firefly

Cabin : Economy

Lost in a new world ???? Empty
PostSubject: Lost in a new world ????   Lost in a new world ???? EmptyThu Nov 05, 2020 1:53 pm

Hi All! really appreciate some advice regarding purchasing a brazilian camper, I'm a total newby and just go weak at the knees every time I see one I love you BUT my practical husband is against it atm, and would rather go modern... I'm after some realistic opinions please... are the newer versions reliable? Could I use it as a daily runner? or am I going to lose this argument and pursue a massive sulk before he gives in ha ha! Thank you..
Back to top Go down
Bob

Bob

Cabin : Club

PostSubject: Re: Lost in a new world ????   Lost in a new world ???? EmptyThu Nov 05, 2020 2:55 pm

The newer ones are very reliable having electronic engine management and petrol injection. Just need a little more tlc but nothing complicated. Several members use them as a daily runner. I have a 2004 aircooled which I bought in 2008 and I use it all year round . I've had many trips from Gloucester to Scotland, France ,Germany, Italy, Slovenia. The only time I've required attention is when I went out the first time and couldn't restart on the camp site to come home. Once valves adjusted all ok and never happened again as I check them regularly. The second time was a few weeks ago when my alternator played up , could have happened in any vehicle. Not bad for a 16 year old vehicle. I do all my own maintenance but I always have on my cars. A like thirsty at 27 mph for aircooled. Water cooled is a lot less thirsty and much quieter.

TimV and Firefly like this post